Home / Latest Updates / Ministers-designates being referred to WJ tomorrow

Ministers-designates being referred to WJ tomorrow

KABUL: President Ashraf Ghani’s 16 new cabinet picks would be officially introduced to the Wolesi Jirga (lower house) on Monday for a vote of confidence.

Humayun Zia, Abdul Bari Jehani and Asadullah Zamir have been named respectively as ministers-designate of commerce and industry, information and culture and agriculture.

Gulab Mangal had been nominated as minister-designate of tribal and border affairs, Eng. Mohammad Baleegh as minister-designate of public works and Abdul Sattar Murad as minister-designate of economy.

Dr. Mohammadullah Batash has been picked as transport and aviation minister-designate, Asadullah Hanif Balkhi as minister-designate of education and Syed Mansoor Naderi as urban development minister-designate.

Similarly, Dr. Abdul Baseer Anwar is Ghani’s choice for the minister of justice, Abdur Raziq Wahidi for minister of communications, Dilbar Nazari for women’s affairs minister and Salamat Azimi for minister of counternarcotics.

Dr. Farida Momand has been named as minister-designate of higher education, Dr. Nasrin Oryakhel minister-designate of labour and social affairs and Ali Ahmad Osmani as minister-designate of water and energy.

The ministry of defence is yet to be named. Second Deputy Speaker of Wolesi Jirga Nazir Ahmad told Pajhwok Afghan News the nominees would be referred to the assembly on Monday.

Of the 24 ministers Ghani had sent to the parliament two months back, only eight were able to win votes of confidence along with the new spymaster. (PAN)

About admin

Check Also

Afghan Government Offers Tax Exemptions and Incentives to Encourage Investment Return

AT Kabul: Nooruddin Azizi, head of the Ministry of Industry and Commerce and leader of …